A quick digression into gallows humor

Yes, it’s that time of the year. Time to remind everyone of that classic horticultural graphic novel, “V For Violet Carson”.

The Texas Triffid Ranch

And now a slight digression into personal background. My father’s side of the family is a recent addition in the US, as my great-great grandparents migrated from England via Canada around the turn of the Twentieth Century, and my grandparents hopped the border during the Great Depression in a search for work. In fact, my grandfather secured US citizenship for the whole family by serving in the Coast Guard during World War II, and my father was born in Michigan shortly before the US entered the war. (That’s right: according to the dubious logic of a certain anencephalic US Representative in the district next to mine, I’m an anchor baby. Better stay on my good side, or we’ll all join forces and bomb the Baldwins again.)

It was the matter of discovering why my family made the move from England that soured me on the current attempts to turn Guy…

View original post 367 more words

Comments are closed.